You are here
Home > 2016 > Scotland Squad For Netherlands Friendly

Scotland Squad For Netherlands Friendly

Anna Signeul has named her squad for Scotland’s friendly against Netherlands on the 20th October, a game that will be played at the Tony Macaroni Arena in Livingston.

It is the first Scotland game since their successful qualification campaign which saw them reach the UEFA Women’s Euro 2017 which will be held in the Netherlands.

In Scotland’s highly impressive win against Iceland, Scotland played a 4-4-1-1 formation with Jane Ross dropping into the midfield when the opposition was in possession, with Lisa Evans playing up top. Whether Signeul carries on with that tactic is yet to be seen, but Scotland will be looking to deal with a dangerous Netherlands side who they could face at the group stage – regardless of formation.

Frankie Brown returns to the Scotland squad after the missing the games in 2016 after suffering from lateral ankle damage back in February. Emma Mitchell was seen  as Scotland’s best player in their win over Iceland so it is likely she will continue at left-back, although of course, Signeul may want to experiment.

Erin Cuthbert returns to the first team squad after captaining the Scotland Under-19s in their qualification campaign. The Glasgow City midfielder has one cap to her name and if she gets her chance against the Netherlands, it may be possible that she plays the role that Jane Ross occupied against Iceland. But as she has shown for her club, she can play in the centre of midfield.

Caroline Weir has been highly impressive in the centre of midfield and will likely be partnered with Leanne Crichton or Jo Love.

Up front, Zoe Ness will hope to make her debut.


Goalkeepers: Gemma Fay (Glasgow City), Shannon Lynn (Vittsjo GIK)

Defenders: Jennifer Beattie (Manchester City), Frankie Brown (Bristol City), Ifeoma Dieke (Vittsjo GIK), Nicola Docherty (Glasgow City), Emma Mitchell (Arsenal), Joelle Murray (Hibernian), Kirsty Smith (Hibernian)

Midfielders: Leanne Crichton (Notts County), Erin Cuthbert (Glasgow City), Hayley Lauder (Glasgow City), Jo Love (Glasgow City), Rachel McLauchlan (Hibernian), Christie Murray (Doncaster Rovers Belles), Leanne Ross (Glasgow City), Caroline Weir (Liverpool).

Forwards: Lizzie Arnot (Hibernian), Fiona Brown (Glasgow City), Lana Clelland (UPC Tavagnacco), Lisa Evans (Bayern Munich), Zoe Ness (Mallbackens), Jane Ross (Manchester City)

Leave a Reply